WINNING!

Wow, I can’t believe that this semester is almost over. I am officially done with classes. Next week, I will be taking my finals and heading to China. I am very excited! Before I go, I want to catch you up on my life.

March Madness Update:

I’m not one to brag BUT…I won! Louisville came through for me on one of my brackets. Thank you Dr. Jandik for teaching me about diversifying my risks.

SEC Case Competition (April 11-13):

SEC Case Competition 2013
(Hosting University: University of Missouri)

This past February, faculty and staff selected me to represent the University of Arkansas in the inaugural Southeastern Conference (SEC) MBA Case Competition. This competition was developed to show the world that the SEC can be known for more than just sports.  The event was hosted by the Crosby MBA Program at the Robert J. Trulaske, Sr. College of Business. Four MBA students from each of the 14 SEC schools were selected to compete on April 13. I felt extremely honored to be given this opportunity. Not only was I the only female in my group, I was also the only first year student.

Team Arkansas
(Left to right: Saif Mir, Carmen Williamson, Dr. Rebel Smith, Dr. Marion Dunagan, Bin Li, Chris Reed)

During the first night, most of our time was spent touring the Clinton Club and mingling with students from other universities. The next morning after breakfast, we were given our case studies. We had from 10 a.m. on April 12 until 7 a.m. on April 13 to complete our case study presentation slides and submit it to the officials. Although I can’t go into details of the case, I can tell you that it was a live case study on AT&T. Besides taking time for lunch and dinner on campus, my group and I worked nonstop on our case. I got 2.5 hours of sleep. For those that know me well, I truly value my sleep. However, I had to take one for the team. The hard work and dedication paid off. I won an award for the best Q&A in my division. My group made it past the first round and won 2nd place overall! First place went to the University of Florida. Third place went to Texas A&M. Everyone did an amazing job.

Awards

Awards

Being presented a check for $5,000

Accepting my individual award

Happy Birthday!!

I turned 25 this month. I can’t say I feel any older. However, I did feel the love on my birthday. After class, my coworkers treated me to Shogun’s in Bentonville. I love going to hibachi restaurants. Later that night, a group of friends came to celebrate my birthday with me at Red Lobster.

Red Lobster

Red Lobster

They all came to celebrate my day.

Red & White Game

So we have already established that I LOVE my hogs. I was very excited to attend the red and white game this year. This was my first time in the football stadium. That’s our secret. I try not to make that a known fact. The view was amazing! Check out the sea of red below. I cannot wait for football season this year. I plan to go to as many games as I can.

With another huge hog fan

In the stadium

Here come the football players…

John Legend

My experiences at the University of Arkansas keep getting better and better. The student-sponsored Distinguished Lecture Series host an “Evening with John Legend”. This event was free to students and the public. Mr. Legend spoke to us about his views on education. He even sang five songs for us. His voice is so beautiful.

John Legend

Leave a comment